Long Plain Friends Quaker Meetinghouse
Built in 1759, the Long Plain Friends Meetinghouse is the oldest church building in Southeastern Massachusetts.
The Meetinghouse was taken over in deteriorated condition by the Acushnet Historical Commission from the Society of Friends in 1985. It was completely restored through the efforts of volunteers with funds from the Town of Acushnet, the State of Massachusetts, various charitable foundations, and individual donors.
It contains much of the original artifacts, including solid oak pews from three different centuries, a small, but unique Quaker Museum, a burial ground dating to the early 18th century and a dressed stone wall encircling the entire property which is situated in a leafy 2.7 acre park-like setting. The Long Plain Friends Meetinghouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Quaker Meetinghouse is operated by members of the Acushnet Historical Commission, along with a private, non-profit organization called the "Friends of the Friends" Quaker Meetinghouse.